Well, we are almost half way through May, and to tell the truth, I miss posting my poetry. So here is another poem, it is from a collection that I am working on getting published. I hope you like it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you are going to leave me

If you are going to leave me then go.

I won’t stand in your way.
I love you enough to want you to be happy, even if that means watching you leave.
But if you are going to stay, then stay.
Completely.

If you are going to leave me, then go.

Love is not a contest, the heart is not the victor’s prize.
This is not between her and me. It is between you and me.
And you must choose.
Respect me enough to be honest about your feelings for me, for us, and for our relationship.

If you are going to leave me, then go.

Love is as much a verb as it is a feeling.
If we are to work this out, you have to work on this also.
It cannot rest solely on my shoulders,
I am not up to that task.

If you are going to leave me, then go.

I will be sad, of course, but I will move on.
Living with you was my choice, not a necessity.
And if you choose to live with her instead of me, that will be your choice.
If you no longer want to invest in what we have, walk out that door.

If you are going to leave me, then go.

Leave a Reply

