November 28, 2014

Thanksgiving is over, and the Christmas Holiday shopping season is in full bloom. On Thanksgiving, I headed out early in the morning to get a newspaper, and boy was it full of ads! I am not going shopping on Black Friday for several reasons (my bank account is telling me not to, for one), but that’s okay. I’m fairly sure what I am going to buy everyone, and not one thing that I had in mind is on sale — anywhere! Luck of the Irish, I guess.

I had a great time yesterday, spent the day with my son, grandson, daughter in law, and her family. I did miss my daughter, who lives in Florida, and her family. Maybe next year.

I also have some catching up to do around here. The weekend is going to be crazy busy, so I really need to make the most of my last day off for a while. I have so much to do, that I might just look forward to going back to work! Yeah, right, who am I kidding.

I doubt if I make the total 50,000 word count for NaNoWriMo by Sunday, but I don’t feel bad. I thought I would, but I’m not disappointed at all. I had a great idea for a novel, and the more words I pounded out on the keyboard, the more I noticed that the book was going to be a series. It was amazing to me how the piece of fiction took on a life of its own. I have written stories where scenes come to life, but this was completely different. I am committed to continue to write, but set the goal just a little more realistic for my life. I know I won’t have, say, 100,000 words by the end of December, but by March, I am pretty confident that I can have the first of the series on E-Reader. I edit as I go, so it takes me a little longer to get the first draft, but I’ve learned from experience that is what works for me.

I am thrilled that I have kept up writing in this blog everyday. I will post something at least twice a week from now on. Judging from past experience, it will mostly be poetry, which is fine. I am working on a book of non-traditional Haiku even as we speak.

Have a great rest of the day, whenever you are reading this, and wherever you are. If you venture out to shop today, keep safe and warm.

Leave a Reply

