November 8, 2014

Christmas Music so soon?

I was driving home from work this evening, and, as I always do, was flipping through the radio stations looking for some music to sing along to on the trip. I stopped at “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer”, thinking that the DJ was playing some kind of gag. The song that followed was another Christmas song, and so on. I drive quite a distance for my job, so I was able to listen to more than a few tunes.

In my opinion ( and I won’t be surprised if you agree with me), it is way too early for anything Christmas (except talk about the true reason of Christmas ~~ the birth of the Savior).  Yet the shelves on the stores are already glistening with the decorations for the ‘perfect’ Christmas season, and now, while November is still in the single digits days, Christmas songs are permeating the airwaves.

Too early! Yet, even as I silently protested, I couldn’t bring myself to change the channel on the radio, and as I wandered down the aisle of the local “Everything is only one dollar” store, I found myself picking out the new ornaments I will buy for my tree this year. Never mind that I have boxes and boxes of ornaments that I have yet to use. I would have shopped even longer, oohing and aahing over every sparkly Christmas season pretty, but began to wonder if the radio was playing that great song by Dean Martin. Don’t know the name of it, something about it being cold outside and I only have six weeks or so to hear it until I am absolutely sick of it for the next 10 months!

Yes, it is way too early for all the Christmas stuff, but that didn’t prevent me from singing all those goofy little jingles at the top of my off-key lungs!

Leave a Reply

