Well, here it is again, National Poetry Month! Below is my submission for April 1, 2014. I truly hope you enjoy it.

WEB OF LIES

I drove past your house tonight, parked my car across the street
timidly walked up the front steps. My index finger was on
the doorbell when I came to my senses-
remembered your web of lies.
I am too old for these games you play, this behavior is beneath me.
I scold myself as I escape the shadow of your front door, safely
reaching my car door as I hear you call my
name, back into your web of lies.
I will myself to be strong this time, to get in the car and drive away
I run into your arms, into your bed, meld into your body
back into your web of lies.

Leave a Reply

