April 20, 2013

Well, we are down to the final ten days. What a great adventure this has been! I love poetry, don’t you? I love to write it, and I really love to read it. Here is today’s offering, it’s not quite as dire as yesterday’s.

TEMPTATION

I was old enough and I should have known better,
but you were
so beautiful,
so kind,
so irresistible,
that after a while, I simply quit trying
to resist the temptation that
your arms,
your lips,
your touch,
presented me with.
Somewhere in my psyche
I knew I would be caught, that the
people I love the most
would be the ones
I would hurt the most.
But
those stolen moments with you,
the excitement of
something – someone – new,
the excitement of doing something
so out of character for me,
something so elicit —

I did the unthinkable.

Funny how things work out sometimes, though,
isn’t it? I tried so hard to resist you, so that
I wouldn’t hurt the people I love. In the end,
the person that I hurt the most was
myself.

Leave a Reply

