April 13, 2013

A LIFE LIVED DIFFERENTLY

If mine had been a life lived differently,
if I had made other choices
I wonder
what would the outcome have been?

If I had chosen a different
college degree
or a different car —
maybe such a small change
as a left turn instead of
right
when that choice was mine.

Would I have been as happy
with that life as I am with
this one? I wonder about these things
sometimes,

then I look at your face, your smile–
I look into those beautiful eyes
and I realize
no different life, no matter how
I would have lived it
could possibly be better than mine.

Leave a Reply

