2012–So far, so good

Not even a week into the new year, and I do believe it is turning out to be wonderful!! The weather here in Southwest Ohio is in the 50’s and sunny. I didn’t have to have my furnace on at all yesterday or today while the sun was out. Of course, it does get a little chilly after sunset, but that’s okay! It’s usually pretty cold by now. The weather forecast is for it to get cooler over the weekend(40’s in January–I’ll take that!), then warm up again to the 50’s by Tuesday. There is a joke about Ohio’s weather–” If you don’t like the weather in Ohio, stick around, it will change in a few hours.” So true!!

I spent the afternoon with my front door open, letting the sun into my house. It was so nice. My two cats and dog competed over who got the best warm spot, and my dog won. So the cats were delegated to the sofa, on top of the pillows. Poor cats!

My houseplants also enjoyed this weather. I keep them outside once it gets warm enough, and they always start looking a little ragged this time of year, but these past few days have been really nice, and they are getting lots of sun.

I wish I had a better camera, I could have taken some really nice photos of the sun cascading through the windows and storm door. The pictures below were taken from my cell phone.

And, there’s more!! I submitted a short story, and Yahoo!Voices has published it!! I am so excited, I can hardly stand it. Writing has been a life long dream for me, and it feels so wonderful to finally be able to pursue it. If you would like to read the story, here is the link:  http://voices.yahoo.com/men-house-10767271.html

Now, if the next 51 weeks will just be as good!

 

 

4 thoughts on “2012–So far, so good

Leave a Reply

